Day 4, 5, 6 in Israel

Day 4 and 5 I didn’t get to blog yesterday because I was SO tired!! We had our first two practices Monday, one in the morning, one in the evening. I have literally never trained with girls as talented as this team. This is a whole new level of lacrosse. It’s amazing. The coaches are great and I am learning so much as a player and a coach. I can’t wait to teach my teams the things I have learned!

It is pretty hot here, especially away from the beach! We are sucking it up though and giving everything we have at practice. In between practice I rested and slept. Ali, Taylor and I found this place for dinner that has legit pasta…it was so good…penne with pesto sauce and broccoli. So yummmmy.

Monday night Julia, our goalie, played guitar and I TRIED to sing. It was a lot of fun, she is so good! She even knew how to play one of my favorites, BSB ‘the call’…

Yesterday we had practice in the AM and then came back to our place. I took a nap and then read, but I was pretty beat. We did some chalk talk and then went to the field in the afternoon to go over everything we learned. Our team is looking better and better every day! Yesterday afternoon I was mostly helping coach rather than playing which was a lot of fun.

One of the craziest things I have seen so far is that when we are at practice, there are these kids who ride around on horses with nothing but a rope. Not only that, but there was a baby horse following behind them WITH NOTHING!! No halter, no lead rope, nothing! It is just crazy. What was even more ridiculous was that I definitely saw them galloping down a different street.

Day 6

Almost our last 6am wake up!! They are getting easier though. After practice, Ali and I went with some of the boys players to Ashkelon to work at the camp they have been running. It was such an amazing experience! The camp consisted of about 50 kids, half girls and half boys. The girls were so precious!! They were just gleaming with happiness play lacrosse. It was so awesome to see. They were also very personable which, anyone who works with kids knows, makes things a lot easier!! They were teaching me how to say things in hebrew like ” I am excited” and “I love Israel” and they helped me work on “My name is Davia” and all of my numbers! We did some relay races and played mini games which were really fun. The girls were cheering for each other and celebrating with such enthusiasm. We want these kids to love lacrosse and I think that the men’s team is doing such an incredible job with it…there wasn’t a kid at that camp not smiling. 🙂
After camp was over everyone wanted autographs and pictures. It was so fun. I am so happy I got to experience that.

Then came the adventure of a lifetime. Ali and I had to take a bus back to Tel Aviv. We have never been on a bus in Israel nor do we speak Hebrew AT ALL!!! Every stop we were like “do you think this is it?”…it was a 50 minute bus ride so you can think how stressful that was! Finally I went and asked the bus driver how many more stops, and it was the next one!! So we get out at the bus station and have no idea what to do. We needed to take a sherut to our street. When we got into the bus station it was like an indoor flee market. It was pure madness. Ali and I were finally going to give in and ask someone but we found a door to the outside world and voila! Sheruts! We needed to find a number 4, which we eventually did. We asked if they were going to our street and they said yes, so we crossed our fingers and hoped on. We constantly looked over at each other thinking ‘Where the heck are we’…and then we finally saw the a street we recognized. We made it home without having to call anymore and without getting lost or dying. I can’t believe it. We were so proud of ourselves, but exhausted from our trip. We had our afternoon practice. My “tibialus anterior” (thanks for the correction Bro-line!) is hurting. I’m trying not to be a baby about it but it hurts every now and then, kind of like rolling your ankle for a bit and then it feels a little better. Mike taped it for the afternoon practice to keep my toes from pointing down to far which causes the pain, and it really helped. Tomorrow we get to play our blue and white scrimmage! I am excited!

I was glad to hear things are going well back home…7v7 and Axis training are off to a smooth start and of course Malory and Karoline are taking care of my Hero’s team!

Yala!

3 thoughts on “Day 4, 5, 6 in Israel

  1. So happy to hear things are going well! I know you love to work with kids and share the gift of lacrosse. I’m glad you got to do that there.
    I’m really proud of you finding our way home. That must have been very stressful!
    Keep up the good work, we love and miss you!
    Mom

  2. So proud of you Davia! Keep up the good work. You’re an inspiration to take on a challenge like this! Good luck and safe travels!! I love reading about your lax life. Thanks for posting!

  3. We just love reading your blogs Coach Davia! You make us laugh and smile about the awesome (and adventurous!) time you are having there. Good luck re the tibialus issue too, praying it goes away. You are missed here by your #4!
    Go Team Israel!!!!
    Vicki,Scott & Olivia

Leave a Reply

