Thought About Stoping….Then Ran Harder.

This week has been a dream. I am so sad lacrosse is over, but I am now realizing what it’s like to have TIME!!

On Tuesday, I was originally having meeting right after school then heading right to practice, so I met with Erin at 5:30 am! We had a really great work out.

Wednesday and Thursday I was able to do the group workout at Axis…those are really beneficial because when you work out with other people you challenge yourself. I used to ONLY want to do private lessons, and I think it was because I was self conscious. Now, I like working out with other people so I can push myself. I also use my stick as much as possible.

Thursday was a bad day. I had stuff going on that was putting me in a terrible mood. I was a quarter of the way through my workout and I just wanted to stop. I wasn’t feeling it. Rob didn’t let me quit, and I am so glad. That is the first time in a long time I lost track of what was important and let outside things bother me. My team and being in the best shape I can be for them and for me is important…not waiting for things that are not going to happen. I am not going to let that bother me anymore. I won’t let things that I can’t change distract me.

It felt so good to get back in a routine with working out…not just doing it when I had time or when I made time.

Friday we had Falcon Idol at our school!! I had to be a judge…Mariah “Scary”. Check out the pic of the judges:

falconidol

It was fun….I had to “sing” a Mariah song……….It got a lot of laughs which I was hoping for ๐Ÿ™‚

I have been teaching my students lacrosse all week. That is four periods a day of lacrosse…basic skills, throwing, catching, ground balls, shooting, tricks…. Howard County Parks and Rec were SO generous to donate 24 (12 girls and 12 boys) BRAND NEW lacrosse sticks to my school. The students are in love.

Anyway, on Saturday when we were doing overhead presses at Axis, and I could feel the discomfort in my shoulder. I finished all the leg exercises and iced.

After Axis Saturday morning, I went and walked around Centennial Park with Caitlin and Samm. It was so nice to just catch up and talk about dumb stuff with my girls!!! I miss them…it’s weird now not seeing them every day! They bring so much positive energy to my life, too, so we need to do that more often!!

At practice that afternoon with my club team, I played with them but used my left hand only so I didn’t irritate my right shoulder.

Sunday I did yoga in the morning. It has been over a year since I have done yoga…it was so awesome. It was tough but it was relaxing and really allowed me to de-stress!! It was such a work out. After yoga, I went and ran around Centennial Lake and I came up with (I’m sure many people have already thought of this) a great interval work out!!!

I am not as tech savvy as a 25 year old should be. There are so many interval apps but I just can’t figure them out. When I got to centennial, I ran the first mile and then started interval training. There are two ways to do this…what I did was every time the chorus of a song came on, I would sprint my BUTT off the entire time. At the lake, you don’t know what your gonna get! You might spend the entire chorus sprinting hills!! Then during the other parts of the song you walk, but don’t let your heart rate get lower than 70% (Around 140 for me)…It was great!

If I had been running on a track I would have switched it around….use the chorus as the recovery. It was really fun!

After running, my brother, sister, dad and I went to the driving range. We were going to play golf later but it looks like a storm is coming, so we took advantage of being 5 seconds away from the range and hit balls. I missed golf! I can’t wait to get out there and actually play.

It’s safe to say this has been a fitness-filled week…let’s repeat!!!

I can’t believe THIS MONTH I will be heading to Israel to meet my teammates and help grow the sport of lacrosse and compete in the World Cup. I am more than excited. It is going to be such an amazing experience !!!!

This was definitely how I felt today ๐Ÿ™‚

thought

One thought on “Thought About Stoping….Then Ran Harder.

  1. So proud of you starting to blog again I really missed it. I’ve been impressed by you go, go, go attitude. You did a great job at yoga and it was great having you there. I loved that it made you feel so good!

Leave a Reply

