A Goal is a Dream with a Deadline…Day 6 (34 days left)

Sometimes when you have a goal, you might get side tracked. That annoying person in your head starts to ask “Well, what if you don’t make it? What will you have after that??” You can not listen to that voice. Obstacles are those scary things you see when you take your eyes off of your goals. Until January 13th, I am competing with one person only: myself.

I slept in until 9:30 today! NOOO! Luckily Bryan called me and woke me up. I remember when I wanted to use the weekends to just sleep in and sleep all day and take naps and watch football. Not anymore! I need to stay on a schedule.

It also didn’t help that I could hear the rain outside, which meant no laxing for me. I finally got around to making breakfast at 10:30. I made another egg white omelet. So good. I am actually becoming quite the omelet maker. An hour later I had a Kashi Peanut Butter bar.

Today was definitely what you would call a “rest” day. I was very anxious to go out and work out or run or do something, but I need a day, so I promised myself I would REST. I did, however, text Erin to tell her I was excited to see her bright and early tomorrow morning. That, I truly truly am! I just want to keep getting better. I also like to hang out with her. She’s da best!

I decided to go to the grocery store again today. When I got there I got myself some Starbucks. Now, before anyone freaks out, I got a SHORT (8oz, the smallest size) SKINNY White Chocolate Mocha WITHOUT ANY WHIP CREAM!! And you know what? It was good! Why? Because I haven’t been drinking it every day! I didn’t even finish it, but it was still a nice treat. It took me 20 minutes to find ginger. Want to know why? Because I was looking for something that looked like an avocado. What does it actually look like? A deformed potato. I know this because I finally decided to google it. If it wasn’t for smartphones I might still be looking for it.

When I got home, I was REALLY excited to try this new recipe I read about. It’s called a Peanut Butter Green Monster. Here’s the recipe:

  • 1/2 C skim milk
  • 1/2 C water + ice cubes (5 or 6)
  • 1 T ground flaxseed
  • 1 T peanut butter
  • 1-2 T Carnation Instant Breakfast powder, chocolate flavor (or cocoa powder, or chocolate protein powder, or nothing!  Experiment!)
  • 2 handfuls fresh spinach
  • 1 ripe banana, sliced

Sounds kind of gross, right? I mean who wants to drink like a spinach smoothie. Well guess what. It tastes very good!! You don’t even have to know me well to know I am VERY picky.  The texture takes some getting used to. I also did not get “ground” flaxseed so I just put the seeds in there, but it just tastes like peanut butter and banana!!

pbj

Haha that looks so nasty!! Seriously though, try it. I am NOT kidding. I drank half of it and saved half for before my work out tomorrow morning.

For lunch/dinner (after the redskins/ravens game and Eagles win), I made Turkey tacos! This is what Kelly and I used to make at Frostburg. You just cook the ground turkey, drain it, add the taco seasoning, some cheese and red bell peppers! It is very good. I also changed it up and used all natural taco shells. Honestly, the all natural shells were better than regular taco shells. I saved the rest for lunch tomorrow.

I stopped by Liz’s ornament exchange to say hi, and I am glad I did. Kaaren told me about a little girl named Gwendolyn who has SMA and her foundation. You can read more about it here: http://thegsf.org/agawelcome/

After Kaaren takes her test on Tuesday, she will be passing her bracelet on to me. It says Never Give Up:

images-thegsf-org-uploads-products-IMG_8338-400x268

The story is very inspiring. Today when I was talking to Kaaren about it, I admitted that I was scared that I was going to fail. All she did was show me her bracelet and that was enough. I can’t wait to have it as a reminder every day.

It was really nice to see Kathy Eckley and Mrs. Riley as well. Kathy and I got to talking about school and I am excited to have her as a resource for PE stuff… Mrs. Riley is just the nicest woman and I am so happy that Becca is a junior 😉 I love all my soccer AND lacrosse players very much, and like I said before, they are part of the reason why I am doing this and why I am able to keep working so hard.

As I finish my glass of Moscato, I will say goodnight, and for once I am looking forward to Monday so I can continue this crazy journey!

Goodnight!!

Leave a Reply

