Control the Things We Can…Day 5 (36 days left)

Happy Hanukkah!!! I wish i could have one of these:

20121208-214020.jpg

Wow, so I just got really nervous about tryouts, and I have no idea why. Actually I do. I was an evaluator at the Baltimore Metro girls lacrosse tryout and helped picked 3 teams to send to the National High School tournament in New York. I just remember watching so many girls and then hearing other coaches name girls I didn’t even notice, while I named girls some of them hadn’t noticed. . It’s been a long time since I have “tried out” for anything…I think since my freshman year of college! It’s not like an interview where you get to sit down and convince your interviewer why you are the best candidate. I am literally going to be hoping and praying that someone notices me and if they don’t I can’t do anything about it. I will make sure to wear my really bright Nike Elite socks. I just have to keep reminding myself of something my dad always says “Control the things we can, and the results will take care of themselves”

I was worried about today. You don’t realize how much easier it is not to eat during work! This morning I woke up on my own at 6:30…it is possible to get on a schedule! I, of course, fell back asleep, and then I went and met my Mom and Taylor at the gym for Body Step class. I ate a banana on the way. I got there pretty early, so I went in to the gym part and to my delight, they had a foam roller! I began to roll, and then….OH MY GOD….. I was in pain!!! It is really interesting, though, because if you isolate a part of your body and you just roll back and forth over that part, you can FEEL it feeling better!! I definitely had tears in my eyes thought from the pain. Embarrassing! Oh well..I already embarrassed myself by what I was wearing and that I hadn’t brushed my hair or anything yet I was in public.

Going through body step I felt SO much better than I used to!! The banana definitely wasn’t enough though because I was exhausted afterwards. It was a really great cardio workout, and Dawn did my favorite song!:

Max HR: 196
Average HR: 140
Calories: 707
Cal. Fat: 22%

I went to Giant and I decided the hardest part about staying healthy is walking into a grocery store and seeing all of the cookies, cakes, candy, and everything readily available for you. Especially this:

peng

UGHHH I LOVE PENGUINS AND I LOVE COOKIE CAKE!!!!!!!

Anyway, I got some more of those Pumpkin Flax bar’s….I had one on the way home because I was so hungry I thought I was going to die, and it was ssoooo delicious!! I also got some ingredients to make Pumpkin peanut butter granola:

pump

It was ok. I don’t think I’m a granola kind of girl. Sorry.

I had an egg white and cheese omelet for lunch. It was very good! After doing some stuff around the apartment, I went to my parents house to celebrate Hanukkah! I had a glass of champagne and potato latkes with apple sauce. They were good and filling. Obviously it wasn’t the most healthy meal, but we only get latkes at this time of year so I had to enjoy it! I also attempted to make cake pops (don’t freak out I wasn’t going to eat them, I don’t like them) and it was a fail. I’ll leave that to Taylor. She is the cake pop machine.

When I got home I wanted to try this new ginger dressing I got at Giant. When I went to Frostburg, there was this little sushi place down past LaValle, and it had the BEST ginger dressing on the salad! I have been searching far and wide for something remotely similar to it. Now, I am not sure if it was the dressing (I only used a little), but I think the salad itself might have been back because it just did not taste good at all.

Tomorrow I really want to try a Peanut Butter Green Monster drink. We will see how that goes. I did not play lacrosse today but plan to go to the Corbetts tomorrow to play for real and really work on my defense.

Thanks for all of the support! I will try to continue to stay positive!!

Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

