Welcome!

Welcome to my first ever blog! I feel kind of weird doing this, but I think it will be a great way for ME to keep track of my training, as well as friends and family to follow my road to tryouts! I only have 1 month and 9 days left to train for something I never dreamed I would have the chance to do— try out for the Israeli Women’s Lacrosse National team! Tryouts are January 13th in NJ, so I have to get a move on.

If I don’t make this team, it’s because 9 other girls beat me at my BEST. Not because I didn’t prepare enough or do everything I could for this.

 

Each post will contain 3 sections: Exercise, Diet, and Lacrosse. I am adjusting ALL of these things in my life.

Exercise: Note: I have not been consistently exercising since this summer. This is BAD!! I am glad that this opportunity is going to encourage me to whip my butt back into shape. I will be exercising on my own, as well as training twice a week at Axis Sport Performance. I have the most AMAZING trainer there, who just so happened to turn into a really good support system as well. When I told her I was going to be trying out for the team, her response wasn’t just “cool” or “ok”, it was “That’s Awesome!”….and proceeded to tell me how one of her friends played on their softball team…you might not see the difference, but taking on something that some people might see as impossible needs a little more encouragement than just “nice”.

Diet: My diet recently has been AWFUL!!! I love burritos from Qdoba, La Bandera from On The Border, McGriddles, Starbucks, Wendy’s, Chik fil A, ice cream; if it’s bad, I like it!! You know what’s ironic (not really), is I have been more tired and felt really poopy recently after eating that crap! This is a great chance for me to change my diet and get my mood and energy back where it needs to be!

Lacrosse: Luckily, I HAVE picked up a stick since my Senior game in college. I coach the varsity team at Wilde Lake, as well as a Hero’s club team, which has given me the chance to put a stick in my hand. I also teach a clinic at Axis for lax skills. However, I need to turn into Griffin Corbett and have my lacrosse stick (with a ball) in my hand 24/7! I will be getting on the wall at least 15 minutes a day, and hopefully getting help from some friends to improve my defense. I will also be training with my stick in my hand at Axis when I can (sprints, conditioning, etc.)

That’s all for now, thank you for your support and I look forward to keeping you up to date on my road to tryouts!

2 thoughts on “Welcome!

Leave a Reply

